AMS Awards

AMS Congress Awards

Barbara Gross Award

The Barbara Gross Award is presented to the best overall free communication or poster by a current AMS member. All free communications and posters presented at the Congress by a current AMS member will be entered for this award. The winner will receive a certificate of honour and AUD$1,000.

Jean Hailes Memorial Prize

The Jean Hailes Memorial Prize is presented to the best free communication or poster presentation by a current AMS member who is still within 10 years of having completed their tertiary degree. The presenter is to indicate their eligibility for this prize when submitting their abstract. The winner will receive a certificate of honour and AUD$500.

Vivien Wallace Poster Prize

The Vivien Wallace Poster Prize is given to encourage delegates working in any area of medicine to submit a poster for inclusion in the 2021 Congress program. This is an annual award to the value of AUD$250.

Judges for the Congress Awards are appointed by the Chair of the AMS Education Subcommittee and there are two judges per room, with a prescribed scoring system. Judges reserve the right to not award a prize if a minimum score is not met.

AMS Awards

The following AMS Awards will also be announced at the Congress

Australasian Menopause Society Award

The Australasian Menopause Society Award recognises a distinguished person in the field of menopause and women’s midlife health, who has given much of their life making a significant contribution to this field.

The Award is determined every two years by the AMS Board of Directors and the presentation includes a certificate, an honorarium of AUD$1,000 and a memento acknowledging the occasion.

AMS Scientific Publication Prize

The AMS Scientific Publication Prize is for the best publication by an AMS member in the preceding financial year. The winner receives AUD$500 and a certificate of honour.
Publications submitted should be published or e-published in the 12 months from 1 July of the preceding year to 30 June of the awarding year. Papers which are accepted but not published, either on line or in print, are not eligible.

The entries for the Award are called for in AMS Newsletters and emails in July – October of the Award year. Closing date is 30 September 2021.

The Award will be announced at the AMS Congress.

The first author, senior author or corresponding author need to be an AMS member at the time of the paper is published. The applicant needs to be a member at the time of applying for AMS Scientific Prize.

Applicants may submit only one publication for the award and it is their responsibility to choose their best publication for submission.

A panel of judges appointed by the Chair of the Education Committee will review the publications and draw up a short list of preferably no more than 3 publications.

The short list will be sent to an independent senior clinician in the field of menopause for final judging. Author identifiers on the manuscripts will be redacted before being sent to the independent judge in order to maintain impartiality.

The Chair of the Education Committee will choose a senior judging clinician with no perceived conflict of interests with any of the short-listed publications.

The decision of the judges is final and no discussion of grievances will be entered into with the applicants.

The criteria to be applied are:

  1. The publication should be in a peer-reviewed journal.
  2. The publication should be of original research. Literature reviews and opinion pieces are not eligible.
  3. The award applicant should have had major input into the collection of data, research methods and procedures, and writing of the manuscript. If this is not contained within the information in the publication, applicants may be asked to clarify their role in the research.
  4. Scoring will be based on
    1. Author’s contribution to the research
    2. Novelty of the data and findings
    3. Appropriateness of the methods
    4. Statistical power
    5. Translation into clinical care of patients